Year 9 Moving Forwards into GCSE Event
Digwyddiad Rhithiol Agored

Virtual Year 9 Moving Forwards into GCSE Event

Ysgol Eirias invites you to a

Virtual Year 9 Moving Forwards into GCSE Event

As your son/daughter is coming towards the end of Key Stage 3 it is time to start thinking about what they may like to study towards GCSE in KS4 (Yrs 10 and 11). During the next few weeks pupils will be asked to choose the option subjects they wish to follow.

Some subjects, English Maths, numeracy, Welsh, The Skills Challenge Certificate (SCC) are compulsory for all pupils.

Pupils also have a compulsory lesson of Core RS and two lessons of Core PE each week

The options process starts during a pastoral lesson on Tuesday 9th February, when pupils will be given lots of information by their form tutor during a TEAMS lesson.

An options booklet will be made available to them which gives more specific details on the content of each subject. At the bottom of each page you can find the name of the member of staff to contact if you require more information.

In the absence of a moving forwards evening we have produced a series of videos that we hope you find informative. You can watch these videos alongside reading the options booklet to help you and your son/daughter make their choice. You will find an outline of the options pool on the options page at the back of the booklet. Why not use that form to plan what the options can be taken.

We hope this will prompt discussions between your son/daughter and yourselves about these important choices.

On 1st March an electronic version of the options form will be put on TEAMS. Pupils are requested to only complete this once. (They have already had a practice at this and will know what to do) Don’t worry if you cannot access this electronically, you will be sent a paper copy.

The electronic form and paper copies must be completed (and paper copies returned to Mrs Zachara) by 19th March when the Options process ends.

If you have any general queries please do not hesitate to contact Mrs H Zachara (Head of Yr 9) on her email: zacharah@hwbcymru.net

Introduction from Head of Year 9,
Mrs H Zachara, zacharah@hwbcymru.net

Optional Subjects

Optional Subjects

Art and Design
Mrs Millington Cassidy, Mill-CassM@Hwbcymru.net

Business
Mr D Jones, JonesD1223@Hwbcymru.net

Computer Science
Ms E Sime, SimeE@Hwbcymru.net

Digital Technology
Mr D Lloyd, lloydd81@hwbcymru.net
or
Mrs G Hughes, HughesG210@Hwbcymru.net

Drama
Mrs J Caton, CatonJ1@Hwbcymru.net

Engineering
Mr M Sherry, SherryM1@Hwbcymru.net

Fashion and Textiles
Mrs L Kerfoot-Robson, Kerf-RobsL@Hwbcymru.net

French
Mrs I Williams, WilliamsI398@Hwbcymru.net

Food and Nutrition
Miss E Owen, OwenE262@Hwbcymru.net

Geography
Mrs S Marriott, MarriottS@Hwbcymru.net

German
Mrs B Gordon, GordonB3@Hwbcymru.net

Graphic Communication
Mr M Sherry, SherryM1@Hwbcymru.net

Health and Social Care Childcare
Mrs N Kenworthy, KenworthyN5@Hwbcymru.net

History
Miss S Haslehurst, HaslehurstS@Hwbcymru.net

Music
Miss E Hammerton, HammertonE@Hwbcymru.net

Personal Finance
Mr A Davies, DaviesA1205@Hwbcymru.net

Physical Education
Mr N Wilkinson, WilkinsonN5@Hwbcymru.net

Product Design
Mr M Sherry, SherryM1@Hwbcymru.net

Religion and Philosophy
Mrs C Davies, DaviesC1746@Hwbcymru.net

Tourism
Mr M Davies, DaviesM1250@Hwbcymru.net

College Options

College Options

Construction
Mrs H Zachara, zacharah@hwbcymru.net

Hair Services
Mrs H Zachara, zacharah@hwbcymru.net

Health and Social Care
Mrs H Zachara, zacharah@hwbcymru.net

Core Subjects

Core Subjects

Cymraeg Ail Iaith/Welsh Second Language
Mr D Williams, WilliamsD780@Hwbcymru.net

English
Mrs J Caton, CatonJ1@Hwbcymru.net

Mathematics and Numeracy
Mr A Davies, DaviesA1205@Hwbcymru.net

Religious Studies (Short Course)
Mrs C Davies, DaviesC1746@Hwbcymru.net

Science
Mrs S Taylor, TaylorS137@hwbcymru.net

Skills Challenge Certificate
Mrs T Parkes, ParkesT@Hwbcymru.net